The Hyde County Emergency Services Department will issue re-entry permits for new residents from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Tuesday (May 16) and from 1 to 4 p.m. Wednesday (May 17) in the Ocracoke Community Center.

These re-entry permits for island residents and property owners are used when emergency conditions, such as after hurricane evacuations, limit general access to island.
The re-entry permit process was modified in 2014 making the permits valid for several years. Permits issued that year are valid through 2018.

People with earlier permits only need to apply for a 2014-2018 expiration date sticker for their permit. 

Those applying for the first time must complete a full application and supply all necessary documents.

People seeking new permits, or those needing to renew existing permits, may do so in person on Ocracoke on the above dates, or by mail.  

If renewing by mail, the applications are processed quarterly.   If renewing permits in person, make sure to bring the plastic hang-tag permit.  

Permits can also be obtained on the mainland in the Hyde County Emergency Services Department public safety building, 1223 Main St., Swan Quarter. during normal business hours. 

No re-entry permit applications are accepted during an active storm.

The re-entry permit application and answers to frequently-asked-questions are available on the Hyde County website here.

Previous article2017 Ocrafolk Festival seeks art for the 50-50 Art Auction
Next articleThe Ocracoke School 1973 Yearbook: innovation for school and community