In this file photo, the current mainland Hyde County Commissioners are, from left, Benjamin Simmons, III, Barry Swindell,  vice-chairman,  Earl Pugh, Jr., chairman, and Dick Tunnell. Not pictured is Tom Pahl, Ocracoke’s commissioner. Photo by Peter Vankevich

To catch up on Ocracoke news, click here 

By Peter Vankevich

The deadline for getting on the Hyde County 2018 election ballot ended today at noon.

Conspicuously absent were two long-time county commissioners, Dick Tunnell, Swan Quarter Township, and Vice Chairman Barry Swindell, Currituck Township. They were the only two commissioners of the five members that were up for re-election.

In Tunnel’s place, two candidates have filed for Swan Quarter. The are Joseph (Joey) Williams and James (“Little Brother”) Topping. Only Ken Collier filed as a candidate for Currituck Township.

Angela (Angie) Todd, current Ocracoke director on the county’s Board of Education, will be on the ballot.

The Ocracoke Sanitary District has three seats up for election. Current board directors William Caswell, Ronnie O’Neal and Flavia Burton have filed for re-election.

Hyde County Sheriff Guire Cahoon will seek a second term. He is the only candidate listed.

Unaffiliated candidates running by petition must have their petitions turned in to the Board of Elections office by noon on the day of the primary, Tuesday, May 8.

The Observer will have more to report later with comments from the candidates.


Previous articleOcracoke School Variety Show set for Friday
Next articleStorm system could cause more disruptions to ferry service beginning Friday