A special primary election will be held June 7 in North Carolina.

In February, the General Assembly enacted S.L. 2016-01 and S.L. 2016-02, which redrew districts for the U.S. House of Representatives and established a primary for U.S. House of Representatives on June 7. Those district lines are under review by a federal court and are not final. 

Early or one-stop voting will be from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Thursday, June 2.

The official election day will be Tuesday, June 7, 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m..

Both voting  opportunities will be at the Ocracoke Volunteer Fire Department, 822 Irvin Garrish Hwy.

On Ocracoke, voters will choose nominees for the U.S. House of Representatives District 3 .

This district is currently held by Walter Jones. Vying with him for the Republican nomination are Taylor Griffin and Phil Law.

Registered Democrats will choose between David Allen  Hurst and Ernest T. Reeves.  

Registered independent voters may vote for the Supreme Court Associate Justice candidates. 

Voters will vote for one of the four NC Supreme Court Associate Justice candidates. The two with most votes will appear on the November general election ballot.

Below are the Supreme Court Associate Justice candidates. Robert H. (Bob) Edmunds is the incumbent.

Michael R. (Mike) Morgan  

Daniel Robertson

Robert H. (Bob) Edmunds

Sabra Jean Faires

External Links 

Hyde County Elections Office , Click here

Ballotpedia, the  Encyclopedia of  American Politics, Click here

League of Women Voters of North Carolina, Click here

State Board of Elections, Click here  and here, Click here 


2016 ocracoke election flyer (4)




Previous articleRecital to take over the village
Next articleTony Sylvester: conjuring art from concrete