Hyde County Government Center, 30 Oyster Creek Rd., Swan Quarter.

Sept. 9, 2019

Wayland J. Sermons, Jr., senior resident Superior Court Judge, and Regina R. Parker, Chief District Court Judge for the Second Judicial District, have issued an administrative order delaying any required court appearances for residents of Ocracoke Island within the district.

The Second District includes Hyde, Tyrrell, Washington, Martin and Beaufort counties.

The order also defers Ocracoke residents summoned to the Sept. 16 jury session in Hyde County to a later date.

In their Joint order, the judges cite the extensive damage and resulting hardships to Island residents from Hurricane Dorian.

A complete copy of the order is below.




Previous articleReport on Hurricane Dorian’s effects on the Cape Hatteras National Seashore
Next articleNon-resident property owners allowed back to Ocracoke