Michael Shoemaker, Ocracoke School high school history teacher, after he voted Tuesday. Photo: P. Vankevich

Voting for the nationwide mid-term general election opened throughout the state this morning at 6:30 and closes at 7:30 p.m.   Ocracoke’s polling place is in the Ocracoke Volunteer Fire Department, 822 Irvin Garrish Hwy.

During Ocracoke’s two-day early voting Oct. 25 and 26, 161 ballots were cast.  Viola Williams, Hyde County Elections director, reported, as of Sept. 28, 3,421 registered voters county-wide, which includes 821 on Ocracoke. 

On the ballot are the two open seats for the General Assembly. Of the four candidates, only two, D. Cole Phelps and Tess Judge, met with islanders during the campaign season.

The views of state Senate candidate, D. Cole Phelps (D-Creswell) and Bob Steinburg (R-Edenton) are provided here.

Those of House candidates, Bobby Hanig (R-Powells Point) and Tess Judge (D-Kill Devil Hills), are here.

The Second Judicial District Court candidates,  Darrell B. Cayton ( Democrat) and Sarah A. Homes (Republican), state their views here.

For Hyde County commissioners, Ken Collier, Republican, and Michael (Shannon) Swindell, Unaffiliated, are running for the Currituck Township seat.    James (Little Brother) Topping, (Democrat), is running for the Swan Quarter Township and Chris Williams is a write-in candidate. To read their views, click here.

Information about the six proposed amendments to the North Carolina constitution is here and here.


Previous articleOcracoke events week of Nov. 5 to 11
Next articleThird Annual Festival Latino de Ocracoke this weekend