Hyde County Elections Office, 1223 Main Street in Swan Quarter.

By Peter Vankevich

Although the special election for Third Congressional District to replace the late Walter Jones is scheduled for Tuesday, Sept. 10, Hyde County election officials are working on contingencies due to Hurricane Dorian.

Voting for this election will be held from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 10, at the Ocracoke Fire Department, 822 Irvin Garrish Highway, and the State Board of Elections will provide guidance if Hurricane Dorian provides major disruptions.

Viola Williams, Hyde County elections officer, suggested registered Ocracoke voters who are passing through Swan Quarter due to the mandatory evacuation can vote at the Hyde County Board of Elections office at 1223 Main Street in Swan Quarter on Tuesday and Wednesday between the hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

That way if voters do not get back by Election Day, it will be taken care of, she said. She encourages the mainland voters to do the same, whether they are evacuating or not.

Mainland voters are encouraged to vote early as well regardless of evacuation orders, Williams said.

The weather will determine if the Swan Quarter office will open Thursday and Friday.

A total of 68 voters turned out for the only one-stop voting day Aug. 26 on Ocracoke.

On the ballot are Tim Harris (Libertarian), Greg Holt (Constitution) Greg Murphy (Republican) and Allen M.Thomas (Democrat).

For further information, call the Elections Office at 252-926-4194.


Previous articleHyde, Dare commissioners order mandatory evacuation for visitors, residents starting Tuesday
Next articleOcracoke Island prepares for Hurricane Dorian